Onehunga High School logo

Scholarships / Awards

There are many Scholarships awarded to Onehunga High School students annually by external Tertiary providers and others. In addition, students at the school may be considered for the following Internally selected scholarships and sponsored awards.

Year 11:

Lee Warn Award

The Year 11 Lee Warn Award is a generous gift from former student, Lee Warn, who contributes in many ways to our society. This award is given to a Year 11 student who is recognised by Onehunga High School as a deserving student of considerable potential.

2017 Award Winner: Tonga Ahosiva

Year 12:

Building and Construction School Awards

A variety of awards are available for students who have achieved consistently across all of their Building and Construction subjects.

2017 Award Winners:  Sophie Gavin, Lewis Katoa, Noah Tuitupou, Tevita Vai, Daniel Fakalata

Year 13:

Cavit Design Scholarship

A generous scholarship offered by former pupil Debbie Cavit to a student who intends on pursuing a career in design.

2017 Scholarship Recipient: Alexia Shepherd

Shih-Hsien Hsieh Scholarships

Two scholarships kindly donated by the Hsieh family, a family who has fond memories of the school.

2017 Scholarship Recipient: Pagia Wilson, Siokapesi Hautau

The Kingdom Legacy Trust Scholarship

This scholarship is offered by a Christian couple who would like to support a student who otherwise would have difficulty studying at the tertiary level. The scholarship contributes to tertiary costs for two years.

2017 Scholarship Recipient: Margaret Telea

Fred McKeever Scholarship

Fred McKeever was an Onehunga identity who contributed a great deal to the community. Through the conditions of his will, Mr McKeever continues to contribute in the form of an award for a student who attends Onehunga High School in support of their tertiary study. Onehunga High School is one of five schools in the community supported by the McKeever trust.

2017 Scholarship Recipient: Eufemio Castro, Emily Kapaga

Nieukerke Memorial Scholarships

The Nieukerke family were Onehunga residents. On the death of Mr and Mrs Nieukerke, money was willed to set up a trust to benefit the educational futures of students from Onehunga High School. Through this trust two Year 13 students are awarded scholarships that contribute to their tertiary costs for the first year of their study.

2017 Scholarship Recipients: Noelani Thomson, Ava Hodgetts

Alan Haskell Awards

Alan Haskell was a local businessman who lived and worked in the Onehunga Community. He was a governor of Onehunga High School. He was on the board for 7 years and was chairperson for 4 years. After his death a trust was set up to help Year 13 students undertake tertiary study. Each year 4 Onehunga High School students are recipients of Allan Haskell Awards.

2017 Award Winners: Tevita Teulilo, Grace Leong, Pawan Bhan

Website by 72DPI