Onehunga High School logo

Student Support


Deans are the immediate link between school and home. Each dean follows students through five years at Onehunga High School, taking responsibility for both the progress and welfare of each student.

The Deans for 2022 are

Y9 Dean -   Ms Sofia Kaur  

Y10 Dean - Mr Jordan Schaumkel

Y11 Dean - Ms Terouru Huri

Y12 Dean - Ms Bex Muipu  

Y13 Dean - Mr Safotu Filipo 


The members of our Guidance Team are trained and experienced counsellors who are available to all students.

Peer Support Programme

The role of the Peer Support Programme is to smooth the transition of Year 9 students to high school. Around thirty Year 13 students are trained by the Guidance department to take on this leadership role to provide support for our Year 9 students. The Peer Support leaders meet the Year 9 students and along with their Kaitiaki, spend time during their first week at school helping to orient and make easier their first few days at high school. For the rest of Term One, Peer Support leaders spend Tuesday and Thursday Kaitiaki time leading activities to build relationships, strengthen communication skills and provide practical transition support. 


Onehunga High School has three registered nurses. At Year 9 all students are offered a full health assessment carried out by the nurses. A doctor and physiotherapist are also available for the students.


Our Careers Department advises on employment and tertiary information through seminars, pamphlets, interviews and our computer career data base. Advice and guidance throughout students’ years at High School will help them to identify career goals and the qualifications they need to support those goals.

Website by 72DPI